Tonight: XPN Welcomes Marketa Irglova at Theatre Of Living Arts

Marketa Irglova has transformed from a sheepish band member to self-assured front-woman. After her split from former band-mate and movie costar, Glen Hansard, Irglova announced that she would be putting out a solo album, Anar. She abandoned the grittier sound of The Swell Season and fully embraced her delicate piano ballads that had once heavily influenced the duo’s Oscar-winning compositions. It is painfully clear that Anar is the direct result of a break-up that resonates with and haunts its creator. The first track and hit song on the album, “Your Company”, is a sorrowful farewell to a previous relationship. Irglova’s extended vocals, almost yearning for resolution, are only accompanied by a sparse arrangement of dreary harmonies. The rest of the album follows suit, ultimately creating a bittersweet lament to love gone wrong. Irglova’s lyricism and instrumentation are brutally honest, her assertive nature has finally taken the spotlight. Marketa Irglova performs with Deigo Garcia at 7 p.m. at Theatre Of The Living Arts; tickets to the all ages show are $18–$23 ($23–$28 via Live Nation). —Caitlyn Grabenstein


Kurt Vile, War On Drugs and Mister Heavenly make Paste Magazine’s Top 50 Best Albums of 2011 list

 Congrats to Kurt Vile, War on Drugs and Mister Heavenly for making the Paste Magazine Top 50 Best Albums of 2011 list. Vile’s Smoke Ring For My Halo came in at #44; Slave Ambient by War On Drugs was #37 and Mister Heavenly’s Out Of Love came in at #36. You can read the entire list here. Download some songs below, including an acoustic version of “Brothers” that War On Drugs’ lead singer and guitarist Adam Granduciel recorded for a Key Studio Session last August.


Philly Local Philes: Caveman’s “Dream Land”

The exploratory guitar patterns and progressive tempos of Philadelphia’s Caveman easily recall another indie-jazz combo of note: Medeski Martin & Wood. So it’s no accident that the four-piece finds itself opening for Mago, the side project of John Medeski and Billy Martin, over at University City’s Blockley Pourhouse this Wednesday. Last December, the band released its self-titled debut EP, and today’s we take the XPN2 Philly Local Philes on a mellow detour to immerse ourselves in the wandering vibes of “Dream Land.” Opening out on the humming tones of Brian Marsella’s organ, the pointed punctuations of John Lee’s lead guitar build up gradually alongside the chugging rhythm section of bassist John Buck and drummer Tim Keiper. It’s done at such a smooth, measured pace, by the time the song erupts around the 3-minute mark, you haven’t even flinched. Listen below; if you want more, catch them Wed. Nov. 30 at The Blockley and get blissfully lost.


Download a live concert from Arches (recorded at the Metro Gallery in Baltimore)

The members of Arches have released a live recording from a concert performance at The Metro Gallery in Baltimore in September. It is being released on cassette, which you can pre-order here. Below, stream or download the performance for free. In case you missed it, you can also listen to the session Arches recorded for Daytrotter here.


Win a pair of tickets to see Jukebox The Ghost (+ The Spinto Band and White Birds) at Union Transfer on December 3rd

This week, we’ve got a pair of tickets for Jukebox The Ghost‘s performance at Union Transfer on Saturday, December 3rd. (The Spinto Band and White Birds will open.) For a chance to win, all you have to do is leave a comment below by 5 p.m. Wednesday, November 30th. We’ll select the winners at random that evening and notify them via email; once you’ve confirmed that you and your guest will be attending the show, your names will be added to the venue’s guest list. (Just make sure to use a valid email address when posting your comment; we promise not to sell your contact info or sign you up for anything—we just want to be able to get in touch with you if you win.) You can watch the new video for Jukebox The Ghost’s “Half Crazy” below.


Watch the new video for Vintage Kicks’ “Gimmie Gimmie”

Back in mid-November, we mentioned that the members of Vintage Kicks—the local pop-punk quintet that XPN2?s John Vettese highlighted earlier this year in his Philly Local Philes—had announced the record-release show for the band’s debut album, King Geek. (The show will take place at at 8 p.m. Friday, December 9th, at The Legendary Dobbs; tickets to the 21+ show are $10.) With a couple of weeks to go before the show, the band has just released the video for “Gimmie Gimmie,” the closing track on the album. You can watch the video below.


Download a free holiday song, “For Christ’s Sake,” by the Bigger Lovers

The Bigger Lovers play this coming Friday, December 2nd at Johnny Brenda’s with the Photon Band and Jay Laughlin. The Lovers are offering a free download of a holiday song called “For Christ’s Sake” that was originally on the band’s 2004 release This Affair Never Happened…And Here Are Eleven Songs About It. Download the song below for free. Lovers’ guitarist and singer Bret Tobias reflects about the song from the band’s website:

“We were asked to contribute to a Christmas compilation and were riffing off title ideas at rehearsal. Someone came up with “For Christ’s Sake” and we all had a laugh and then quickly moved on to doing “Emmanuelle” for the umpteenth time or something. But the title stuck in my head, and as I started writing it became a little more heartfelt than intended. It was an interesting experiment, even though it’d be served better by someone who can belt soulfully with more aplomb. But I still like it.”


Download a live Purling Hiss show via NYC Taper

Scott Troyan

Philly psychedelic rockers Purling Hiss played a show on Friday, November 18th at the Cameo Gallery, a music and art space in Brooklyn. NYCTaper was there to record the show that you can download here. Below, check out the set list. The photo of Mike Polizze from Purling Hiss was taken at Johnny Brenda’s by Scott Troyan. Go here to view more of his concert photos.

01 Limerence
02 Lolita
03 Run From The City
04 Passenger Queen
05 The Hoodoo
06 Voices
07 [tech and tuning]
08 [untitled new song]
09 Don’t Even Try It
10 Been Teased
11 Almost Washed My Hair


Download “City of Ice” by Br’er

Philadelphia-based musician Benjamin Schurr records under the name of Br’er. He recently released a new album called City Of Ice on the Edible Onion label. Br’er debuted in 2007 with Of Shemales and Kissaboos and since then has released several singles and EP’s. City Of Ice is Br’er’s second full length album. Below, download the title song.