Just Announced: Kurt Vile playing Union Transfer on 5/18, plus free download from new LP


Huge news out of Kurt Vile‘s camp: the local rocker will be playing Union Transfer on May 18th with Steve Gunn and Angel Olsen.  The date follows the release of Vile’s upcoming album Wakin On A Pretty Daze on April 9th, which Matador Records has announced will be a 69-minute double LP.  In addition to a full tracklist and U.S. tour dates, Matador has also shared a free download of lead track “”Wakin On A Pretty Day” here.  On first listen it’s clear Vile has stayed true to what he does best, namely playing warpy, bright guitar riffs and singing poetic lyrics with strong imagery.  Check out the track below. After the jump, watch last week’s documentary on the album’s cover art below, featuring appearances by local street artist Steve Powers and Mr. Vile himself.  Tracklist follows.  Tickets and information for the all-ages hometown show will be available here.

Wakin On A Pretty Daze tracklist

Side A
01 Wakin On A Pretty Day
02 KV Crimes
03 Was All Talk

Side B
04 Girl Called Alex
05 Never Run Away
06 Pure Pain

Side C
07 Too Hard
08 Shame Chamber
09 Snowflakes Are Dancing

Side D
10 Air Bud
11 Goldthrone

  • Categorized Under:
Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.