My Morning Download: “Three Strangers” by People Get Ready (from a limited time only collection of World Cafe downloads)


Photo by Erin Harris
Photo by Erin Harris
Today’s World Cafe download is “Three Strangers” by the Brooklyn band People Get Ready. Members of the band include Steven Reker, Luke Fasano (ex-Yeasayer), James Rickman (ex-Lizzie Trulie, ex-Slow Gherkin), and Jen Goma (A Sunny Day in Glasgow). In 2006 Reker moved from Arizona to New York City, finding work as a dancer and guitarist on David Byrne’s 2008-09 tour, as a composer in Yasuko Yokoshi’s recent dance work, and as a choreographer for Miranda July’s film The Future. The band released its self-titled debut in October, 2012. They visited World Cafe with David Dye in January; listen to the full interview and performance here.

This month (and this month only) World Cafe is offering free downloads of performances from bands including Calexico, Lord Huron, the Afghan Whigs, Alt-J, John Fullbright, Freelance Whales, Stars, Nick Waterhouse, Allen Stone, The Kopecky Family Band, Sea Wolf, Trey Anastasio and others. Download the entire collection, while they last until March 1st, here.

People Get Ready open for Deerhoof at Union Transfer on Monday, April 15th. Go here for tickets and more information about the show.



  • Categorized Under:
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.