XPN’s Gotta Hear Song of the Week: “The Ballad of the Opening Band” by Jeff Tweedy


songs-for-slimcomp_coverada On February 19th, 2012, former Replacements guitarist Slim Dunlap was hospitalized as a result of a massive right brain stroke. Insurance does not pay for Dunlap’s long term care, and his friends have been helping out by recording a series of covers of his songs and using them to help raise money for his care. On November 12th, Songs For Slim, the non-profit project set up to raise funds for Dunlap, releases a two CD, 28 song collection, Songs For Slim: Rockin’ Here Tonight – A Benefit Compilation For Slim Dunlap on New West Records. Rockin’ Here Tonight collects all the songs from tracks in the series including new previously unreleased recordings. All the proceeds will go towards assisting Slim and his family with the expenses related towards his long term care. Some of the artists contributing to this project include Craig Finn of the Hold Steady, Lucinda Williams, Steve Earle, Joe Henry, John Doe, Soul Asylum and Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy, who covers one of Dunlap’s best songs, “The Ballad of the Opening Band.” Listen Tweedy’s poignant cover of it and the original below.

Tracklist for Rockin’ Here Tonight – A Benefit Compilation for Slim Dunlap

Disc 1 (The 45s)
1. Busted Up (The Replacements)
2. Radio Hook Word Hit (Chris Mars)
3. Times Like This (Steve Earle)
4. Isn’t It? (Craig Finn & Friends)
5. Partners In Crime (Lucinda Williams)
6. Nowheres Near (Tommy Keene )
7. Rockin Here Tonight (The Minus 5 feat. Curtiss A)
8. Cozy (Tim O’Reagan & Jim Boquist)
9. Ain’t No Fair (In A Rock ‘N’ Roll Love Affair) (Jakob Dylan)
10. Taken On The Chin (Joe Henry)
11. Just For The Hell Of It (John Doe)
12. From The Git Go (Deer Tick + Scott Lucas + Vanessa Carlton)
13. The King & Queen (Frank Black & The Suicide Commandos)
14. Ain’t Exactly Good (You Am I)
15. Hate This Town (Patterson Hood)
16. Loud Loud Loud Loud Guitars (The Young Fresh Fellows)
17. The Ballad Of The Opening Band (Jeff Tweedy)
18. From The Git Go (Lucero)

Disc 2 (unreleased bonus tracks)
1. Laugh It Up (it’s all a big joke anyway) (Peter Holsapple)
2. Girlfiend (John Eller)
3. Little Shiva’s Song (Soul Asylum)
4. Slim’s Place (The Young Fresh Fellows)
5. Two By Two (Bee, Louie & Brien)
6. When I Fall Down (Chris Mars)
7. Chrome Lipstick (Chan Poling)
8. Times Like This (Frankie Lee)
9. The Ballad Of The Opening Band (LP.ORG)
10. Love Lost (The West Saugerties Ale & Quail Club feat. John Sebastian)

Purchase the album from Amazon here

Purchase/pre-order the album from iTunes here



Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.