MusicNotes from the XPN Morning Show: NPR streams Flaming Lips’ “Beatles Tribute Album”…Watch trailer for new, R.E.M documentary and David Bowie and Neil Young have special releases planned for Record Store Day

Wayne Coyne (Photo : Getty/Frazer Harrison)
Wayne Coyne (Photo : Getty/Frazer Harrison)

The Flaming Lips tribute album to the Beatles does not come out until October 28th, but NPR is currently streaming the album in it’s entirety.

The album is called “With a Little Help From My Fwends” & features performances by My Morning Jacket, Dr. Dog, Phantogram, Tegan & Sara, Miley Cyrus, Grace Potter and Foxygen, among others. Proceeds will go to the Bella Foundation, a charity in The Lips’s hometown of Oklahoma City that helps terminally ill elders pay for veterinary expenses for their pets.

Listen to NPR’s stream here.

With a Little Help from My Fwends Tracklist:

1. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (feat. My Morning Jacket, Fever the Ghost, and J Mascis)
2. With a Little Help from My Friends (feat. The Flaming Lips, Black Pus, and The Autumn Defense)
3. Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds (feat. Miley Cyrus, Moby, and The Flaming Lips)
4. Getting Better (feat. Dr. Dog and Chuck Inglish)
5. Fixing a Hole (feat. Electric Wurms)
6. She’s Leaving Home (feat. Phantogram and Juliana Barwick)
7. Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite! (feat. The Flaming Lips, Maynard James Keenan, Puscifer, and Sunbears)
8. Within You Without You (feat. Birdflower and Morgan Delt)
9. When I’m Sixty-Four (feat. The Flaming Lips and more)
10. Lovely Rita (feat. Tegan & Sara and Stardeath and White Dwarves)
11. Good Morning Good Morning (feat. Zorch, Grace Potter, and more)
12. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise) (feat. Foxygen and MGMT)
13. A Day in the Life (feat. The Flaming Lips, Miley Cyrus, and New Fumes)

Paul Natkin

A new feature-length documentary: “R.E.M.TV by MTV)” about the early days of R.E.M. and the band’s rise to fame will be included in the upcoming six-DVD box set REMTV, out November 24th, and will premiere simultaneously on MTV and its sister networks VH1 and Palladia, in late November. The rock-doc compiles decades of footage that the MVP had saved in its vaults. Read more here.

Watch ‘R.E.M. by MTV’ Documentary Trailer below

David Bowie and Neil Young will be releasing some special offerings on Record Store Day Black Friday, November 28th.

According to

Most notable among the Record Store Day releases are David Bowie’s brand new song “Sue (Or in a Season of Crime)” – which is backed with another new tune “‘Tis a Pity She’s a Whore” – and the continuation of Neil Young’s Official Release Series, which includes remastered vinyl reissues of his LPs On the Beach, Time Fades Away, Tonight’s the Night and Zuma. All of the releases, a list of which is available at, will be available at select independent record stores.

Read more releases on Record Store Day here.


Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.