MusicNotes from the XPN Morning Show: “Buy This Fracking Album!” w/ Bonnie Raitt, Indigo Girls & Steve Earle, and Ex-Nirvana member joins Modest Mouse on next album.



Two dozen artists including Bonnie Raitt, Indigo Girls, Steve Earle, John Butler Trio and Michael Franti have contributed songs to a two-disc compilation intended to educate listeners about the controversial method of “hydro-fracking:” The contentious process of extracting natural gas from the earth’s shale.

“Buy This Fracking Album” is a 24-song set, featuring a mix of original recordings, previously released tracks and live versions of older songs – all of which share the theme of environmental awareness.

The album comes out June 16th release & can support the project through a PledgeMusic campaign.  Proceeds will benefit various anti-fracking organizations, including Food and Water Watch and Marcellus Protest.

“Buy This Fracking Album” Track List:

Disc 1:

1. “Smallest Trees” – Rootz Underground
2. “Freakin Frack” – Marco Benevento and Dave Dreiwitz
3. “Smarty Pants” – Rusted Root
4. “Earth From Outer Space (Acoustic)” – Michael Franti
5. “Activist” – Jay Samel w/ DJ Logic and Friends
6. “Revolution” – John Butler Trio
7. “Russell Crowe” – Moon Hooch
8. “Never Still Water” – Meshell Ndegeocello
9. “Gasland Terror” – Anti Flag
10. “Seasons” – Rebel Diaz
11. “Hydro Fracking Clowns” – Chris Merenda
12. “Fools Gold” – Pony Boy

Disc 2:

1. “This Land is Your Land (Live At Farmaid 2013)” – Pete Seeger
2. “Before the Drilling Rigs Got Here” – Thom Chacon
3. “Lack of Cash Flow Blues” – David Amram
4. “Drill on the Horizon” – Mike and Ruthy
5. “Motherland (Live)” – Natalie Merchant and The Felice Brothers
6. “The Mountain” – Steve Earle
7. “Down There” – Tom Chapin and John Forster
8. “The River Song” – Kristen Graves
9. “Hell to Pay” – Bonnie Raitt
10. “World Falls (Live)” – Indigo Girls
11. “What About Climate Change” – Eve Silber
12. “Star Spangled Banjo” – Josh Fox

Sure Fire Media
Sure Fire Media

Former Nirvana bassist Krist Novoselic will play on the next Modest Mouse album, which is expected out next year.

Modest Mouse frontman Isaac Brock says:

Novoselic’s part sounds like a bunch of boulders falling down a mountain.We basically made two records at the same time. The title was just going to be Whatever. And the dumbest thing… I was going to misspell ‘whatever’. You know like, just have it be Whabever. I just wanted to go as dumb as possible – just ‘cause I kinda thought it was funny.”

Watch interview and performance with Modest Mouse on CBS Saturday Morning.

  • Categorized Under:
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.