MusicNotes from the XPN Morning Show: Wilco cancels Indiana show in protest, Hear My Morning Jacket’s latest song “Spring”, & Listen to new song from “Of Monsters & Men”

Larry Busacca-Getty
Larry Busacca-Getty

Wilco has canceled their May 7th show in Indianapolis because of Indiana’s Religious Freedom Restoration Act.


Wilco says on their Facebook page:

We are canceling our May 7th show at the Murat in Indianapolis. The “Indiana Religious Freedom Restoration Act” feels like thinly disguised legal discrimination to us. Hope to get back to the Hoosier State someday soon, when this odious measure is repealed. Refunds available at point of purchase.

The law passed last week prohibits state laws that “substantially burden” a person’s ability to follow his or her religious beliefs. Critics say the law allows discrimination against gays and lesbians. Read more here.


My Morning Jacket‘s new album The Waterfall is out May 4th &  MMJ has just shared another song from it.  Listen to “Spring”, below. My Morning Jacket will perform as part of the XPoNential Music Festival presented by Subaru at the Susquehanna Bank Center in Camden, NJ on Saturday, July 25th, along with St. Vincent. Details here.

Some of the biggest names in music are establishing their own online streaming service called, “Tidal”


Jay Z, Beyonce, Alicia Keys, Kanye West, Madonna, Rihanna, Nicki Minaj, Usher, Jason Aldean, Daft Punk and Jack White are backing Tidal. They all appeared onstage together in New York City yesterday to announce the launch. Keys says the artists hope the new service will “forever change the course of music history.” It’s being offered at two price points: $10 for standard sound quality and $20 for “lossless high fidelity sound quality.”


Of Monsters And Men have announced details of new album ‘Beneath The Skin’.  The album comes out on June 8 and is the follow up to 2011’s “My Head Is An Animal”.  Listen to Of Monsters and Men’s new single ‘Crystals’ below.

“Beneath The Skin” Tracklisting:

‘Wolves Without Teeth’
‘Slow Life’
‘Black Water’
‘Thousand Eyes’
‘I Of The Storm’
‘We Sink’



Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.