Watch The Dixie Hummingbirds in concert for XPN’s Gospel Roots of Rock and Soul

The Dixie Hummingbirds | Photo by Ellen C Miller for WXPN

On Wednesday evening, August 29th, the legendary Dixie Hummingbirds kicked off their 90th year anniversary celebration with a live show for the Gospel Roots of Rock and Soul project at World Cafe Live in Philadelphia. A standing room only crowd was presented with a concert that was part musical celebration, part history lesson and paid tribute to the Hummingbirds of the past and connected to the current group, Ira Tucker Jr., Carlton Lewis III, Lyndon Baines Jones, Torrey Nettles, Troy Smith, and Roy Smith. Continue reading →


Just released: Live At the World Cafe, Volume 44

Hot off the presses, Live At the World Cafe, Volume 44 is available now for a donation. The 17 song collection includes Cafe performances from Brandi Carlile, Margo Price, Moby, Natalie Prass, Mt. Joy, Nathaniel Ratefliff and the Night Sweats and many more.

You can get a copy of the new collection of World Cafe tracks by donating here. Check out the full track list below.

Live at the World Cafe, Volume 44

1. Brandi Carlile “The Joke”
2. Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats “A Little Honey”
3. Margo Price “Heart Of America”
4. Natalie Prass “Short Court Style”
5. Mt. Joy “Silver Lining”
6. Lo Moon “Loveless”
7. First Aid Kit “You Are The Problem Here”
8. Lake Street Dive “Musta Been Something”
9. Blind Boys Of Alabama “I Can See”
10. Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds “Holy Mountain”
11. Sunflower Bean “I Was A Fool”
12. Moby “The Sorrow Tree”
13. Courtney Marie Andrews “Kindness Of Strangers”
14. Darlingside “Eschaton”
15. Lizz Wright “Singing In My Soul”
16. Sunny War “If It Wasn’t Broken”
17. Jen Cloher “Analysis Paralysis”


Listen to Ben Vaughn’s tribute to legendary DJ Jerry Blavat, The Geator With the Heater

The Geator | photo courtesy of the artist

Our friend Ben Vaughn, musician, producer and host of WXPN’s weekly Many Moods of Ben Vaughn on Saturdays at 5pm ET, recently paid tribute to one of the greatest DJs in the world, Philly’s very own Jerry Blavat, The Geator With The Heater, The Big Boss With The Big Hot Sauce. The Geator shares Saturdays on WXPN with Ben, with his show, The Geator’s Rock & Roll Rhythm & Blues Express at 6PM.

“A true force of nature” is how Ben describes The Geator. But The Geator is much much more than that. He’s a Philly radio institution, who always plays “music from the heart not a research chart.” He started out as a dancer on Bandstand, and he went on to becoming a world renown DJ, television show host, recording artist, and former record label owner who still puts on some of the greatest dance parties for yon teenagers of all ages.

Several years ago, Ben interviewed The Geator, and the results are just magical. Listen to the special tribute to the Geator below, in the player. It’s an incredible history about The Geator with the music and the memories of all time. Listen in the player below.


Introducing the Americana Music Hour hosted by WXPN’s Dan Reed

Willie Nelson | still from video

Beginning this Sunday, September 9th at 3 p.m., XPN Music Director and Afternoon host Dan Reed will host and produce a one hour weekly Americana music show.The Americana Music Hour will feature the best of Americana music, past and present, with weekly countdowns and features. From alt-country to country classics, from folk to bluegrass and singer-songwriters, the Americana Music Hour will include roots music that helped create the genre of Americana and the new artists that continue to stretch its broad scope. Continue reading →


XPN’s Gotta Hear Song of the Week: “Can You Hear Me” by Ryan Culwell

Ryan Culwell | Photo courtesy of the artist

Singer-songwriter Ryan Culwell recently released his third full length album, The Last American. It’s the followup to his critically acclaimed Flatlands, released in 2015, and continues to capture the Springsteen-esque imagery and driving Americana of his last release. His song “Can You Hear Me” was inspired by the death of Eric Garner. Continue reading →


Live Coverage: Aretha Franklin’s funeral

NEW YORK – MARCH 21: Singer Aretha Franklin performs at Radio City Music Hall on March 21, 2008 in New York City. (Photo by Andrew H. Walker/Getty Images)

Detroit will celebrate the life of Aretha Franklin on Friday, August 31st at 10 a.m. EST. Over two dozen people — including heads of state, a record mogul, and music legends of nearly every description — will take the stage of the Greater Grace Temple to speak, sing and pray in honor of the gift that Franklin so readily shared with the world. Some of the folks who will be at the Queen of Soul’s homegoing include Jesse Jackson, Bill Clinton, Al Sharpton, Clive Davis, Michael Eric Dyson, Cicely Tyson, Stevie Wonder, Chaka Khan, Yolanda Adams, Shirley Caesar, Tasha Cobbs-Leonard, Ronald Isley and others.

Watch it live beginning Friday, August 31st at 10AM.


XPN’s Gotta Hear Song of the Week: “People Get Old” by Lori McKenna

Lori McKenna | photo by Becky Fluke | courtesy of the artist

Considering she’s spent her life in Stoughton, Massachusetts, just outside of Boston, for singer-songwriter Lori McKenna, Nashville has been very very good to her. As a songwriter, McKenna’s songwriting has become country music gold for musicians like Little Big Town, Tim McGraw, Reba McIntire, Hunter Hayes, Ashley Monroe, and others. On her own solo work, as a songwriter through the eleven albums she’s released since 2000, McKenna’s common exploration of themes of family, inner personal turmoil, and the emotional ties and relationships we have between each other, have continued to shine with each new release. On her new album, The Tree McKenna remains a powerful and prolific storyteller about the human condition. Continue reading →