New collaborative project between Franz Ferdinand and Sparks heads to the Electric Factory

FFS | Photo via artist's Facebook
FFS | Photo via artist’s Facebook

Glasgow’s Franz Ferdinand and California’s Sparks have come together to create FFS, a cleverly-named project highlighting each group’s strengths in songwriting and performance. They released their self-titled debut this past June and have announced U.S. tour dates for the fall. FFS will headline the Electric Factory on October 3rd and tickets are on sale this Friday, August 7th at noon. Listen to “Collaborations Don’t Work” and see the full list of tour dates below, get more information at the XPN Concert Calendar. Continue reading →


Listen to Franz Ferdinand on World Cafe (XPN Welcomes them to the Tower Theatre on 10/19)

franzferdinand Scottish rockers Franz Ferdinand recently visited World Cafe with host David Dye. The band just released a new album, Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action, their first new album in four years. They play the Tower Theatre on Saturday, October 19th. Go here for tickets and more information. During the World Cafe session the band performed “Right Action,” “Evil Eye,” “Love Illumination,” and “Fresh Strawberries,” all from the new album.

Listen to the session here.


Watch Franz Ferdinand’s full Live at Letterman set (playing Tower Theater on 10/19)


Franz Ferdinand are getting ready to release their fourth album, Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Actions on August 26th.  Based on the singles and live recordings that have come out this summer, it’s gonna be a killer album.  On Monday night, the group appeared on Live at Letterman, and their 48-minute several new songs. Watch the entire performance below and be sure to catch them when they play The Tower Theater this October.


Franz Ferdinand release new video for “Right Action” (playing The Tower 10/19)


Scottish indie-rock outfit Franz Ferdiand, recently released two singles from their forthcoming album, Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action, and they’ve now put out a video for one of those tracks, “Right Action.” The rest of the album is due out at the end of August via Domino, and the band will be headed out on tour in support of it. They’ll be paying a visit to the Tower Theater, on October 19th. Tickets are on sale now, and more info can be found here. Watch the “Right Action” video below.


Franz Ferdinand shares two new tracks (playing The Tower 10/19)

Franz-Right-Thoughts-Right-Words-Right-ActionsGlasgow-based indie rockers Franz Ferdinand announced last month that they’ll be releasing their fourth full-length record, Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action, this August, via Domino. They’ve now shared two tracks, “Right Action” and “Love Illumination”, from that forthcoming release on Youtube. The band has been playing both, along with other material off of Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action, frequently during their live shows, yet this is the first of the studio recordings to be released. Franz Ferdinand will be in town this coming fall, for a show at The Tower, on October 19th, during their tour supporting the new album. Tickets are on sale now. Find more information here, and check out both new tracks, as well the track-list for Right Thoughts, below.

Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action Tracklist:
01. Right Action
02. Evil Eye
03. Love Illumination
04. Stand on the Horizon
05. Fresh Strawberries
06. Bullet
07. Treason! Animals.
08. The Universe Expanded
09. Brief Encounters
10. Goodbye Lovers & Friends



Firefly on the Fly, Day Two: Weezer, Judah & The Lion, Sofi Tukker, Flume, Twenty One Pilots, and more

Weezer | Firefly Music Festival 2017 | Photo by John Vettese

Here’s a quick rundown of day two of the Firefly Music Festival. While there were over thirty bands on the schdedule on Friday, the big hits of the day were Twenty One Pilots — whose fans are the hypest people at the festival by far — and Judah & The Lion, who opened the main stage in the afternoon. Judah & The Lion joined Twenty One Pilots during their set to cover “Tubthumping” by Chumbawumba and “Jump Around” by House of Pain and the world exploded.

Sofi Tukker was the best set I saw today. The Brooklyn based duo – Sophie Hawley-Weld and Tucker Halpern – played very interactive dance rock with touches of South American percussion. Maggie Rogers came onstage to join in on a song with them. Banks was stunning; and her haunting performance was marked with beautiful sound, choreography, and a lot of awesome weirdness. Franz Ferdinand DJ’d Euro pop on the Treehouse Stage after their main stage set; and Louie Louie performed on the Campground Stage. Continue reading →


30 Songs, 30 Days and Secretly Group announce Our First 100 Days, featuring Strand of Oaks, Nothing, and more…

Nothing | Photo by Sydney Schaefer for WXPN
Nothing | Photo by Sydney Schaefer for WXPN

In the days leading up to the election, a project called 30 Days, 30 Songs brought together protest songs from high-profile acts like Death Cab for Cutie, Jim James, and Franz Ferdinand. There was so much artist support that the number quickly ballooned to 50 songs, and now, with the help of the Secretly Group, they’re doubling even that. Continue reading →