Tonight’s Concert Picks: Bleeding Fractals at PhilaMOCA, Beth Orton at World Cafe Live, Rich Mystics ft. Eric Slick at North Star Bar

Bleeding+Fractals++3For tonight’s installment of the Tuesday Tuneout series, Maggot House Records are bringing Bleeding Fractals and Cool Points to PhilaMOCA. The former is a post-punk rock band which features sharp and driving riffs and screaming vocals (the group claims to have been founded on a shared fear of city bears). The latter, Cool Points, is similarly based in punk noise and lead by talented singer Jill Mallon. This event will also include a screening of the documentary, My Basement is a Shithole, which explores the basement show culture in Philadelphia’s punk music scene. Take a listen to “Colfax Kids” by Bleeding Fractals (which are apparently an unusual sort of mathematical set) and find information on the show here.

Continue reading →


Just Announced: Beth Orton playing World Cafe Live on 8/6

beth orton

Continuing to tour in support of her latest Sugaring Season LP, Beth Orton returns to Philadelphia for a show at World Cafe Live on August 6th.  The British folk songstress returned to the studio after a six year break following the release of Comfort of Strangers to record Sugaring Season, working with Tucker Martine and collaborating with M. Ward and Tom Rowlands (Chemical Brothers).  Tickets and information for the all-ages show can be found here.  Watch Orton’s Tiny Desk Concert for NPR Music below and listen back to her November 2012 appearance on World Cafe here.


Tonight’s Concert Picks: Beth Orton at The Trocadero, Cousin Brian and Vintage Kicks at PhilaMOCA, Bell X1 at World Cafe Live, David Gray at American Music Theatre, Gossip at The TLA

Singer-songwriter Beth Orton will take the stage at The Trocadero tonight.  The English musician’s forthcoming record Sugaring Season is her first in six years and represents a time of self-reflection and transitions in both her personal life and her music career.  Supporting Beth Orton is Vermont-bred folk singer Sam Amidon.  Tickets for this seated all-ages  show are $29.50, available here.   Doors are at 7:00 p.m. and music begins at 8:00.  Below, watch the video for Beth Orton’s single “Magpie”.

Continue reading →


Stream Beth Orton’s Sugaring Season via NPR Music (playing The Troc on Sept. 25)

English singer-songwriter Beth Orton releases her fifth LP, Sugaring Season, next Tuesday, October 2. The album is streaming today via NPR Music, and NPR’s Stephen Thomas writes that the album’s scaled-back production, a surprising direction for the onetime electronica vocalist, recalls English-folk heritage artists like Pentangle.

If anything on Sugaring Season finds its way onto a dance remix, it’ll involve a particularly imaginative sample. Still, for all its deliberate pacing and acoustic flourishes, Sugaring Season isn’t meek: In “Candles,” “Something More Beautiful” and elsewhere, the album unleashes a kind of churning, rumbling urgency in which intensity stands in for speed.

Let the gentle vibes of Sugaring Season soak in here. Beth Orton plays The Trocadero Theater tomorrow with Sam Amidon; tickets and information can be found here.


Just Announced: Beth Orton show moved from Keswick to Trocadero

Photo by Kyle Costill |
This just in from the folks at AEG Live: Beth Orton‘s September 25 show, originally booked for Glenside’s Keswick Theater, has been moved to The Trocadero for a seated show. All original tickets will be honored, refunds are available at point of purchase. More information on the all-ages show available here. Orton’s new album, Sugaring Season, comes out October 2 on Anti- Records.


My Morning Download: “Magpie” by Beth Orton (WXPN Welcomes to the Keswick in September)

Photo by BITBY

Singer-songwriter Beth Orton is releasing her first new album in six years on October 2st, Sugaring Season on Anti-Records. WXPN Welcomes Beth to the Keswick Theatre on Tuesday, September 25th. Below, download “Magpie” from Beth’s forthcoming album.

Support for My Morning Download, from Flying Fish Brewing Company

Watch Beth Orton perform three new songs via NPR Music’s Tiny Desk Concerts (playing the Keswick in September)

Beth Orton is releasing her first new album in six years, Sugaring Season, on Anti- Records on October 2nd. The album was recorded in Portland, Oregon with producer Tucker Martine and an incredible band including keyboardist Rob Burger, bassist Sebastian Steinberg, legendary jazz drummer Brian Blade, aguitarists Marc Ribot and Ted Barnes and singer-songwriter Sam Amidon. Beth performs at the Keswick on Tuesday, September 25th. Go here for tickets and more information about the show. Below, via NPR Music’s Tiny Desk Concerts, watch Orton perform three new songs from her forthcoming album.


Beth Orton releasing new album in October; watch a new video (playing Keswick Theatre in September)

Photo by John Vettese

Indie chanteuse Beth Orton today announced her latest release, Sugaring Season, due out Oct. 2 on ANTI- Records, according to reports by Consequence of Sound and Under the Radar. Her first release since 2006’s Comfort of Strangers and her sixth overall, the album will reportedly feature collaborations with Sam Amidon, an emerging name in the new folk scene, as well as notable jazz drummer Brian Blade. Orton supports Sugaring Seasonwith an appearance at the Keswick Theater in Glenside on September, 25th. There will be a pre-sale Wednesday, July 11th through Thursday, July 12th at 10 PM. Go here to purchase tickets. Tickets go on sale Friday, July 13th at Noon. Below, check out the tracklisting and watch the music video for lead single “Something More Beautiful” below.

01. Magpie
02. Dawn Chorus
03. Candles
04. Something more Beautiful
05. Call me the Breeze
06. Poison Tree
07. See through Blue
08. Last Leaves of Autumn
09. State of Grace
10. Mystery