Download Philamixington II, featuring Norwegian Arms, Radiator Hospital, Catnaps and more


Matt Marchinowski of Big School Records is moving out of Philadelphia.  To celebrate his time here, Marchinowski has pieced together a snapshot of the local music scene with a 27-track mixtape called Philamixington II, available as a free download via his Tumblr.  The second installment in the local music mixtape series, this collection samples various genres, circles and side projects with tracks from radio favorites like Cheers Elephant (pictured), basement staples Roof Doctor and The Hundred Acre Woods and new-projects-from-old-buddies like Avery Rosewater.  From Marchinowski:

Although April will see my moving out of Philadelphia for the peaceful confines of the sticks I will still consider its scene ‘home’. It wasn’t easy narrowing this collection down to 27 jawns but I can assure you it won’t be the last notch in the Philamixington series.

Download the full mixtape for free on Beat the Indie Drum here and stream a sampling of the tracks below.  The first Philamixington set can be downloaded here.


Memory Tapes drops a new mixtape prior to Player Piano‘s July 5th release

Memory Tapes, the electronica project from producer and musician Dayve Hawk, is releasing the new album Player Piano on July 5th. Below, check out a video for the song “Today Is Our Life,” then head over here to download the new “Ghosting Notes” mixtape (featuring songs Dayve was listening to while recording the new record). Some of the songs on the tape include tracks by Funkadelic, The Black Keys, David Bowie, and “I Never Dreamed” by The Cookies.


You, Too, Can Be A DJ: Eastern Conference Champions and Sun Airway make mixes

Eastern Conference Champions
Eastern Conference Champions

L.A.-by-way-of-Philly indie-rock trio Eastern Conference Champions dropped a new mix today for your Monday listening pleasure. The nine-song mix—made for the L.A. Record—includes a song from their Bucks County pals, Illinois; the track list is below. Not to be outdone, local bliss-pop duo Sun Airway released a new mix as well; there’s no track list for it, but it does feature classic jams from George Harrison, The Undisputed Truth, and ELO mixed with the ambient/electronica sounds of today.

Eastern Conference Champions mixtape

01. Tom Waits “Hang Down Your Head”
02. Illinois “Swimsuit”
03. Cee-Lo “Closet Freak”
04. Daniel Lanois “Frozen”
05. The Dead Weather “Gasoline”
06. OutKast? “Rosa Parks”
07. Otis Redding “Dock of the Bay”
08. The Who? ?”A Quick One While He’s Away”
09. Built to Spill “Carry the Zero”

The Sun Airway mixtape