Just Announced: Amos Lee at The Tower on 11/27


Local singer-songwriter Amos Lee has announced a show at The Tower Theater on November 27th.  The XPN listener favorite will be touring in support of his new record Mountains of Sorrow, Rivers of Song, set for release on October 1st.  It will be Lee’s fifth studio album and features cameos by Alison Krauss, Patty Griffin and more.  While performing in New York for a Bowers and Wilkin’s Sound Session, Lee debuted a new song off the album called “The Man Who Wants You” – watch the live video for the song below and view the full track list for Mountains here.  Tickets for the all-ages show go on sale August 7th and will be available here.


Franz Ferdinand release new video for “Right Action” (playing The Tower 10/19)


Scottish indie-rock outfit Franz Ferdiand, recently released two singles from their forthcoming album, Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action, and they’ve now put out a video for one of those tracks, “Right Action.” The rest of the album is due out at the end of August via Domino, and the band will be headed out on tour in support of it. They’ll be paying a visit to the Tower Theater, on October 19th. Tickets are on sale now, and more info can be found here. Watch the “Right Action” video below.


Franz Ferdinand shares two new tracks (playing The Tower 10/19)

Franz-Right-Thoughts-Right-Words-Right-ActionsGlasgow-based indie rockers Franz Ferdinand announced last month that they’ll be releasing their fourth full-length record, Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action, this August, via Domino. They’ve now shared two tracks, “Right Action” and “Love Illumination”, from that forthcoming release on Youtube. The band has been playing both, along with other material off of Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action, frequently during their live shows, yet this is the first of the studio recordings to be released. Franz Ferdinand will be in town this coming fall, for a show at The Tower, on October 19th, during their tour supporting the new album. Tickets are on sale now. Find more information here, and check out both new tracks, as well the track-list for Right Thoughts, below.

Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action Tracklist:
01. Right Action
02. Evil Eye
03. Love Illumination
04. Stand on the Horizon
05. Fresh Strawberries
06. Bullet
07. Treason! Animals.
08. The Universe Expanded
09. Brief Encounters
10. Goodbye Lovers & Friends



Tonight’s Concert Picks: Purling Hiss with Spacin’ at Johnny Brenda’s, Glitter at World Cafe Live, Restorations at the First Unitarian Church, They Might Be Giants at The TLA, Meek Mill at The Tower Theater and more

Photo by Peter English for Shaking Through |
Photo by Peter English for Shaking Through |
Local rockers Purling Hiss celebrate the release of Water On Mars at Johnny Brenda’s tonight.  The new LP is the trio’s major label debut (through Drag City) and presents the bristly lo-fi guitar rock of previous releases in a more polished, hi-fi resolution while retaining the amped up excess of feedback and noise.  The Key explored Water On Mars for a March edition of Unlocked, which you can check out here.  Mike Polizze’s band will be joined by his Birds of Maya bandmate Jason Killinger’s newish basement fuzz rock project Spacin’, as well as AXIS:SOVA.  Tickets and information the 21+ release show can be found here.  Below, watch Purling Hiss’ video for “Mercury Retrograde.”

Continue reading →


Just Announced: Morrissey coming to the Tower Theater on 4/6

MozIt’s time for Philadelphia devotees of Stephen Patrick Morrissey to go into high alert. After orbiting the city this winter with shows in Atlantic City and Reading, then taking a touring break due to health issues, Moz just announced a show within easy reach of the Market-Frankford El. On April 6, he will headline The Tower Theater, and tickets go on sale this Friday, March 1, at noon via Live Nation. Below, rejoice to the strains of “Action Is My Middle Name,” a new song performed on Letterman this winter, as well as the classic Morrissey video for “November Spawned A Monster.”

Continue reading →


The Lumineers and a few thousand fans headline The Tower Theater (photos, review, setlist)

If ever there was a mystery about how The Lumineers became so popular so fast, last night’s appearance at The Tower Theater solved it: they involve the fans in their concerts as much as themselves.

Having catchy songs with singalong refrains helps, sure. But even given those, other acts might make performances a one-directional thing – they play, you watch, and applaud when it seems appropriate. The Lumineers, on the other hand, make the crowd feel involved and at home, all the way to the coat rack and living room piano they deck the stage out with. Continue reading →


The Week So Far: 12 must-read stories on The Key (incl. Roots Picnic, ONUINU and #LetBonnerShoot)

Photo by Pete Troshak | |

The lineup for the 6th Annual Roots Picnic includes Gary Clark Jr., Lushlife and more [link]

Dave Hartley‘s Top of the Key returns to tell you why the NBA should #LetBonnerShoot [link]

Folk-inspired Philly songwriter Gretchen Lohse records a stunning Key Studio Session [link]

The latest album from Joe D’Amico gets the Unlocked treatment [link]

Portland dance-rock artist ONUINU chats about his upcoming show at Kung Fu Necktie [link]

Get your vote on in The Deli and Tri-State Indie‘s year-in-review polls [link]

Pitchfork gave Bleeding Rainbow‘s new LP a bad review, then premiered it anyway [link]

UK pop singer Jessie Ware played Union Transfer, reminisced about World Cafe [link]

Listen to Simian Mobie Disco recorded live on Making Time RADio [link]

Elder grunge statesmen Soundgarden brought their reunion tour to The Tower Theater [link]

Listen to Yo La Tengo cover The Spinners’ classic “I’ll Be There” from Free at Noon [link]

Ohio singer-songwriter Dolfish is spotlighted in this week’s Folkadelphia session [link]


Recap: Soundgarden at The Tower Theater (photos, setlist)

Reunited grunge-era luminaries Soundgarden played to a sold-out crowd at Upper Darby’s Tower Theater last night, showcasing tracks from their 2012 reunion album King Animal, dipping into their back-catalogue for classics like “Spoonman,” “Blow Up The Outside World,” “Rusty Cage” and “Hands All Over,” and digging all the way back to their 1988 debut Ultramega OK for nuggets “Flower” and “Beyond the Wheel.” Check out a photo recap of the night in the gallery above, and read the setlist after the jump. Continue reading →


Soundgarden Alert: Tour Announcement (playing The Tower 1/19) and new video, album stream

Anticipating the November 13th release of King Animal, their first record in sixteen years, ’90s rock band Soundgarden has just announced a tour featuring a stop at The Tower on January 19th; tickets will be available here on November 16th at 10 a.m. As if this weren’t enough from a band who swore they’d never reform, today Soundgarden has also released the video for “Been Away too Long,” the first single from King Animal, which you can watch below. You can also stream King Animal on iTunes here before it drops on Tuesday.


Lumineers announce February show at The Tower

Denver trio The Lumineers are returning to Philadelphia at the Tower Theater on February 9th. The roots-pop group, who are currently scheduled to play with Dave Matthews Band at the Wells Fargo Center December 22nd (tickets available here) took off this year with the breakaway hit, “Ho Hey.” Although the group has been together since 2005, their self-titled debut album was released in April. Tickets for the February show will be available starting at 10 AM Friday, November 2nd here. Below, watch the video for “Ho Hey.”