Three minutes of power pop glory: download a new Nixon’s Head song, “Forgive”

Back in the mid-Eighties, local garage pop rockers Nixon’s Head were an integral part of the local Philly music scene. The band – Andy Rosenau (vocals), Jim Slade (lead guitarist and main songwriter), Mike Frank (guitar), drummer Seth Baer, and bassist Mike Fingeroff were influenced by 60’s pop, garage rock and the sounds of AM radio. At the time, the then Manayunk based band were part of a fertile alternative local music scene with other bands at the time like the Dead Milkmen, Electric Love Muffin, and The Wishniaks.

Nixon’s Head released their first EP, The Doug Factor, in 1986. It received rave reviews in Spin Magazine and sold out it’s initial pressing of 1000. Despite all signs pointing to the band breaking out beyond Philly, they split up in 1991. They reformed in 1998, and today continues to churn out the power pop/garage rock they’ve come to be loved for. The current line up of the band includes original members Seth Baer, Mike Frank, Andy Rosenau, and Jim Slade, along with Dorothy Haug and new bassist Colin Currie. The band recently released a new album, MOd!, as part of a double CD with another local band, The Donuts. Celebrating the release of their album, Nixon’s Head and The Donuts are playing tomorrow night, Thursday, March 20th at Boot & Saddle with Adam & Dave’s Bloodline, who also have a new album. Go here for tickets and more information about the show. The new album, MOd!, is classic Nixon’s Head; 19 songs – 38 minutes of guitar driven power pop. Below, download the three minute propulsive “Forgive,” a song that wouldn’t sound out of place on the Nuggets box set.

Purchase the Nixon’s Head/Donuts split release MOd!/POW! here